Recent Updates:

  • Five women have received top speaker awards so far this semester: Evan Lynyak (Yale ’17), Jules Vigorito (Hopkins ’16), Aislin Flynn (University of Toronto ’16), Laura Coughlin (BU ’16), and Adele Watkins (Wellesley ’17)
  • Brown in October had a gender balanced final round, including Marina Tan (Yale ’18) and Joy Jing (Harvard ’17)
  • A female-female team, Evan Lynyak and Megan Wilson (both Yale ’17) won Hopkins in September
  • William & Mary I in September had a gender-balanced final round, including Geneva Kropper (Maryland ’16) and Emma Ashe (UChicago ’16)

2014-2015 Competitive Success:

  • One female-female team won a tournament in the 2014-2015 season – Jess Maskin (Brandeis ’15) and Alyssa Adler (Brandeis ’16) at Tufts in October.
  • Three women received top speaker awards in the 2014-2015 season – Allison Douglis (Yale ’15) at Middlebury College, Emma Ashe (UChicago ’16) at Washington University in St. Louis, and Juliana Vigorito (Hopkins ’16) at Wellesley College.
  • One woman, Diana Li (Yale ’15) finished the 2014-2015 in the top ten Speaker of the Year rankings, tying for 9th.
  • The 2014-2015 season ended with gender-balanced teams in the top three Team of the Year positions, something never before accomplished on APDA. The winner of 1st TOTY included a female debater for the first time since 2004.
  • The 2014-2015 Novice of the Year was Miriam Pearson (Swarthmore ’18), only the second woman to ever win the award and the first since 2005.
  • A record breaking 13 women broke at 2015 Nationals, with 6 women in top 10 speaker tab, including 1st and 2nd. There had not been a female top speaker at Nationals since 2012, and a sophomore had not won the honor in much longer – congratulations to Evan Lynyak (Yale ’17)!

APDA Board Presence:

  • There has been one female APDA President in the league’s history, Ashley Woods (Northeastern ’12) during the 2011-2012 season.
  • There has, as far as records show (circa early 2000s), never been a gender-balanced APDA Board; at most, 2 women have been on the Board each year.